missrachelsmith

Blogging v. microblogging

with 4 comments

So…  blogging. As those of you who follow my missrachelsmith twitter account will know, my attempt at microblogging is not always entirely successful. I say this because there will often be days, sometimes weeks, without a twitter update, particularly when library life is busy (which is most of the time). And even when I do post something, I often feel like I don’t say anything particularly enlightening.

Given my inconsistent background in online professional networking, you might question whether a blog is really for me. I’m not sure quite yet, I’ve got to say – I guess we’ll see! But these are some of my reasons for giving it a go:

  • I’m much better at writing in big. I am slightly in awe of people who can condense complex ideas and discussions into teeny mini posts. Unfortunately, however, I find that having a lot to say and liking proper sentences is tricky in less than 150 characters.
  • I subscribe to a number of blogs and I enjoy reading them! So maybe this is a sign that I will get on well with writing one.
  • I don’t have time to write lots of posts every day, really, but I do have time to put something together every now and again. So I think the combination of twitter and blog might work for me.

I also have a specific purpose for my shiny new blog – that of attempting to document my professional development activities as I work towards CILIP Chartership (more about the background to this in post two, hopefully!). I want to use this blog to record what I’m doing in order to achieve Chartered status, to reflect on my developmental activities and discuss what I’m learning with other people who might be interested.  As Chartership is all about developing professionally in quite a wide sense, I’ll also use posts to touch upon broader issues and things I find interesting about libraries and information.

Wish me luck!

Written by missrachelsmith

January 4, 2011 at 13:50

Posted in Chartership

Tagged with ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s about 9 months now since I started my blog – it takes time, I struggle with how much to reveal about myself in my posts, and I don’t always find it easy to think of content. However, it’s definitely been worth it! All the best with this!

    FieldVole

    January 5, 2011 at 19:13

  2. Thanks for the advice, Bronagh – I think I’ll probably wrestle with some of those issues myself (particularly the privacy stuff). I enjoy reading your blog though – keep it up!

    missrachelsmith

    January 6, 2011 at 11:45

  3. Great stuff Rachel, really glad you’ve decided to start blogging. I’m looking forward to your future posts about your Chartership and I imagine there will be some posts about marketing too as I know you have some great ideas there.

    I think your pointers suggest that you perhaps are more suited to blogging, and to be honest I feel very similar. Twitter is fantastic for quick discussions and building a network (as many people don’t blog), but I like being able to explore and properly explain my views in a blog post, and I also get a lot from blog comments too – both those on my own blog and other comments I get involved with.

    Hope it works out well for you 🙂

    Jo Alcock

    January 7, 2011 at 16:45

    • Thanks for your comments Jo… I do like Twitter a lot and see a lot of value in it, for the reasons you suggest on a personal level, and I totally see why it’s useful for businesses and organisations. Since starting using Twitter, I’m now doing quite a bit of work on maintaining the library’s Facebook and Twitter accounts, and I’m also just about to begin some freelance work setting up, writing guidance documents and initially manning the Twitter and Facebook accounts for a start-up company. So I guess I’ll have to get my Facebook and Twitter cap on over the next couple of months, as well as blogging. It was your UC&R conference session that got me thinking properly about these things in the first place, so I guess this is all partly your doing!

      Look out for my next post hopefully later this week… I think I need to get a couple of initial introductory posts under my belt before I can move on to (what I think are) more interesting subjects.

      missrachelsmith

      January 10, 2011 at 10:19


Leave a Reply

