missrachelsmith

One liners #1

leave a comment »

This week I have been having a MAJOR READING LIST BLITZ. So major, it deserves block capitals. I actually quite like processing reading lists, when you get into a bit of a rhythm – there is a comfort to be found in routine and I get some satisfaction from doing quite technical tasks accurately. However, when I sat down to write a blog post this lunchtime, which was going to be about the Learning Resources Centre (LRC) at a local FE/HE college I visited last week and how they handled reading lists and academic liaison, I could see it was quickly turning into an essay. Evidently, I need slightly more mental simulation for seven hours of the day than reading lists provide. But I am noticing a pattern recurring – when I start to write a blog post about something, it turns into hundreds and hundreds of words on my chosen subject of the day (tips, anyone?).

Anyway, to avoid this, I’ve decided that I’m going to confine myself to one-liners for the remainder of this post. I’m not going to focus in depth on liaison and reading lists, but instead I’m going to tell you about lots of different things I noticed during my time at the LRC, in no particular order. Rules of the game: I’m only allowed one line of the Word document I’m writing this on per topic (I don’t trust WordPress not to eat my posts). And GO…

One liners: interesting things I learnt about the Learning Resource Centre

LMS: The LRC uses Heritage, which seems really user-friendly and is used by many FE colleges.

Fines: Are much lower at the LRC than the University Library, and staff aren’t charged fines (!).

Stock selection: Resources are chosen by academics and signed off by their head of department.

Acquisitions: Orders recorded by the LRC, but all purchases managed by College purchasing office.

Print journals: are all reference only and classified at the same Dewey number as the book stock.

Cataloguing: All LRC resources are catalogued from scratch – they don’t import MARC records.

Access: Visitors sign in at reception; the LRC has moved away from ID cards to biometrics.

Teaching space: 5 computer clusters in the e-learning area are available for teaching bookings.

Computing: Computer cluster managed by MyPC, recently changed to a thin client system.

Website: No LRC website; patrons access information through the VLE or via the web OPAC.

OPAC: Front page easy to customise, but resets to original whenever there’s a Heritage upgrade.

Grouping resources on the OPAC: can be done by adding piece of code into web OPAC URL of items.

Social media: the LRC contributes to the College Facebook page, but Facebook is banned in College.

Branding: Blue and white used (College colours); the LRC has its own logo.

Marketing: The LRC mainly use traditional print media, but are soon to get a plasmascreen.

Information skills: Staff member based in the HE building offers HE information skills programme.

Inter-library loans: The LRC group isn’t part of a lending group and only use the British Library.

And finally…

Reading lists: Formal process is launching this year; academics will use LRC template to submit lists.

Induction: In 2010, 2524 new students went to 184 LRC induction sessions (seriously impressive).

Why write an essay, when you can write it in a sentence?

Written by missrachelsmith

April 1, 2011 at 19:13

Leave a Reply

