missrachelsmith

Small steps

leave a comment »

Today, I’ve had a well-deserved pyjama day (apart from the fact that at about lunchtime, I decided getting showered and dressed might make me feel slightly more productive!). Having the luxury of a few hours to play with, for once, I’ve finally got around to making some small improvements to this blog. When I started the missrachelsmith blog up back in January, I was really keen to get on and post about all the things I was doing. So I picked a theme, added one or two important widgets and got my head around using WordPress (a new platform for me), and started to write.

But now I’m a few months and a few posts into blogging, I thought it was about time I at least got the presentation of my blog up to a good basic standard, rather than just the bare bones. The marketer in me would love to play around with the style and format of these webpages, and I think at some point this would be a brilliant development activity in terms of web design. However, the librarian in me knows that the information I’m trying to convey, and making this information more accessible and visible, is the most important thing. And that’s what I’ve been trying to do today.

One liners #2:  Improvements I have made to my blog today

Photo: Having named my blog after myself, I thought it might be nice for you to put a face to the name.

Menu: Under my photo, there is now a menu in the sidebar for you to navigate through some of my…

… Pages: I’ve created two new pages, to provide a bit more information about who I am and what I do.

About page: A short bio, a statement about the views expressed in my blog.

Publications page: A page which I’ll regularly update, about my writing for publication.

Categories: I’ve started using categories, to give you another way to find posts on particular subjects.

CILIP Blogger?: As my blog mainly describes my Chartership activities, I’ve asked to become a CILIP Blogger.

What do you think of the new and improved missrachelsmith blog? What other features or information would be useful? I’d love to know your thoughts and comments.

Written by missrachelsmith

May 14, 2011 at 19:05

Posted in Chartership

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

