missrachelsmith

Why I haven’t blogged since March

leave a comment »

It might seem an obvious title, but that’s the subject of this post in a nutshell. Alternatively, I could have gone for ‘Why I’ll be blogging more regularly over the next few months’, but we’ll come to that in a bit. I will start instead by answering my first question by making a range of true statements with a few fairly lame excuses thrown in about why I have written precisely one blog post in the last six months (which goes against all of my own very good advice as a so called communications professional, but hey ho).

Why, Rachel, why?

  • My new job as the Communications and Marketing Officer for the Library and Heritage Collections has been pretty hectic. I would liken it to spinning many many plates with one hand and juggling kittens in the other (yay, kittens!). I generally blog about work + I don’t have any spare moments at work these days to speak of + and I also don’t really want to be thinking about work when I’m not there because that would drive me bonkers = no blog posts.
  • I bought a piano which I quite enjoy playing.
  • I have been spending time writing things which are not blog posts. I’ve edited my children’s book and started to send it to agents and publishers. I also started writing book number two.
  • I organised my first Brownies sleepover at which I got pretty much zero sleep.
  • I have basically spent all my personal and professional development time on personally and professionally developing (rather than reflecting on them here on this blog. It’s not like I’ve been doing nothing, honest!).
  • I have been fairly preoccupied with the series of unfortunate events which I have continued to find myself in on a personal level.
  • I was progressing well in terms of my CILIP Chartership work, so I felt like I could afford to slow down with it for a bit.
  • I spent two weeks completely glued to the Olympics.
  • I just couldn’t really be bothered.

There you go, you have my reasons, for what they’re worth. And the reason why I’ll be blogging more regularly until the end of the year? Well, you know, it would be a bit weird to completely ignore my 2012 development activities in my Chartership application. And from October I will have officially completed the two year period of work experience since I registered for Chartership, which means that I can actually submit my application. It won’t be October, because I will be spending most of my time running round like a headless chicken with the arrival of all the new students, but I’m aiming to get it cracked by Christmas.

So watch this space…

 

Written by missrachelsmith

August 15, 2012 at 18:41

Leave a Reply

